These Country Songs REALLY Tick Me Off

“What Was I Thinking” – Dierks Bentley

The line that kills me: “Shut off the lights and tore through the corn field. What was I thinkin’?”

Yeah, what the heck were you thinking, Dierks? Thinking that driving through a corn field and destroying a farmer’s field is cool and fun? I’m thinkin’ you’re not too smart.

“I Drive Your Truck” – Lee Brice

The line that kills me: “I find a field, I tear it up Till all the pain’s a cloud of dust”

I'm sad, so I'm going to destroy your field! Yay! Photo source

I’m sad, so I’m going to destroy your field! Yay!
Photo source

OMG. I’m sorry your brother was killed while serving in the Army. Still doesn’t make it ok to destroy a farmer’s livelihood. Now it’s ok to destroy a farmer’s field because you’re sad. Thanks for that, Lee…

“Somethin’ About a Truck” – Kip Moore

The line that kills me: “Somethin bout a truck in a farmers field. A no trespass sign, and time to kill. Nobody’s gonna get hurt, so what’s the big deal?”

But no one got hurt, so it's ok.... Photo source

But no one got hurt, so it’s ok….
Photo source

OMFG. No one get’s hurt? How about the farmer and his family, who’s livelihood you so blithely destroyed. Losing thousands of dollars in inputs like seeds and fertilizer as well as lost revenues probably hurts pretty bad.

Also, not only does the farmer take a loss for idiots driving through his fields, here’s a nice list of criminal and civil charges that one could face for doing so:

Felony malicious destruction of property
Reckless driving (misdemeanor)
Reckless endangerment (if you have a passenger)
Trespassing (misdemeanor)
Passengers can get charged as accessories to these crimes!

And then on the civil side, where the farmer could sue for damages:
Civil Trespass
Intentional destruction of property
*the jury can award the farmer upwards of $50,000 dollars in punitive damages!

SO, these songs are totally lame and encourage listeners to commit felonies. Way to go, guys! Why don’t you write a song now about how awesome farmers and ranchers are and how you should never, ever drive in their fields?

This entry was posted in Other Topics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to These Country Songs REALLY Tick Me Off

  1. It’s so amazing to me ,the ignorance involved when it comes to this issue. I asked someone once if he would like me to drive to town to his yard and do the same things.

  2. jodi818 says:

    Totally agree! We had a neighbor kid trash a new seeding alfalfa field. Rather than call the cops we got a bunch of free labor out of the kid. Taught the kid a pretty valuable lesson.

Please tell us your thoughts!

