Recipe from a Farmer’s Table – Garbanzo Taco Soup

GARBANZO TACO SOUP
From the Kitchen of Gina Whitman
 
This is a fast and easy recipe, is crowd pleaser, and a wonderful way to use garbanzos
 
1 lb hamburger or chicken, browned and crumbled
1 can corn (or about 12-14 oz. frozen)
1 can Mexican spiced tomatoes
1 can sliced olives
1 onion chopped
1 can garbanzos (or about 12-14 oz, cooked)
1 pkg. taco seasoning
Drain liquid off the canned items.  Rinse.  Dump everything into the crockpot and simmer all day.  Serve with sour cream, cilantro and tortilla strips.  Yumm!
This entry was posted in Other Topics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe from a Farmer’s Table – Garbanzo Taco Soup

  1. freeflowgirl says:

    I’ve made this today and first… it IS fantastic. But… following the recipe, the result is not a soup so much as a chunky relish with meat. 🙂 There is no broth, or no liquid to speak of, so the dish really is something to be scooped up on chips and eaten. Is there something missing from the recipe as printed here?

    • Robin W.L. says:

      Hi! I just came upon your comment about the garbanzo taco soup. I’m really sorry I didn’t get back to you earlier. I went back to check the recipe which was given to me by the farmer’s wife, and it reads as she gave it to me. I’ve made the recipe a few times myself, and what I do is add beef broth or 1 beef bullion cube to each cup of water needed to make it “soupier.” Then you can control the thickness. Thanks for writing.

Please tell us your thoughts!

